AU Press Releases

School of Arts student wins University writing competition

The English Division at Alfred University has selected Hayley Van Dusen as the 2009 winner of the annual Lelia E. Tupper Writing Competition. As first-place winner, Van Dusen, a junior at School of the Arts, Rochester, will receive a $1,000 scholarship in her freshman year if she applies and is accepted into Alfred University. The scholarship may be renewed for each of the following three years of attendance at Alfred University, provided she maintains a minimum B (3.00 grade point average, based on a possible 4.00) average. She also received a $50 check and a waiver of the normal application fee should she choose to apply to AU. The second-place winner in this year’s competition is also from School of the Arts. Pendle Marshall-Hallmark, also a junior, received a Merriam-Webster Collegiate Dictionary and The Roget’s Thesaurus. Should she decide to apply to Alfred University, she will also receive a waiver of the application fee. The English Division faculty at Alfred University judges the entries. The purpose of the competition is to discover ability and encourage excellence. Manuscripts must not exceed 12 pages and may be submitted in both Creative Writing and Expository Writing categories. In Creative Writing, participants may choose to write four poems, a short story, or some combination of both. In Expository Writing, students must write either a critical or personal essay. Founded in 1836, Alfred University became the first coeducational institution in New York State and the second in the nation. About 2,000 full-time undergraduate and 400 graduate students work and live in 52 buildings on a scenic 232-acre hillside campus adjoining the village of Alfred. The nonsectarian University is comprised of the privately endowed AACSB-accredited (Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business) College of Business and the College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, as well as the NYS College of Ceramics (Kazuo Inamori School of Engineering and the School of Art and Design). Bachelor’s, master’s, and doctoral degrees are awarded.