AU Press Releases

Saxon indoor track and field teams compete at RIT

ROCHESTER, NY – The Alfred University men’s and women’s indoor track and field teams competed at RIT Friday. There were no team scores, but three AU athletes turned in ECAC-qualifying performances.

Freshman Eliza Parker (Oswego, NY/Oswego) placed second in the 55-meter hurdles. Her time of 8.87 seconds qualified her to compete at the ECAC indoor championships March 4 and 5 in Northampton, MA. Freshman Rebecca Graudons (Mayfield, NY/Mayfield) qualified for the ECAC meet with her second-place finish in the pole vault (3.20 meters). Graudons also took fifth in the high jump (1.48 meters).

Other top performers for the AU women included sophomore Jordyn Larkins (Rochester, NY/Harley-Allendale-Columbia), fifth in the 55-meter dash (7.79 seconds) and eighth in the 200-meter dash (28.57 seconds); junior Tiffany Buck (Freeport, ME/Freeport), sixth in the 500-meter run (1:47.83); freshman Liz DeMonte (Melville, NY/Walt Whitman), fifth in the pole vault (1.48 meters); freshman Corrine Pettit (Strykersville, NY/Holland), seventh in the long jump (4.76 meters); and sophomore Kelly-Jo Beck (York, NY/York) and freshman Jennifer Kirsch (Penfield, NY/Penfield), fourth (10.12 meters) and sixth (9.35 meters), respectively, in the shot put.

Senior Shawn Ross (Ticonderoga, NY/Ticonderoga) met ECAC-qualifying standards with his fifth-place finish in the shot put (14.44 meters). Other top performers for the AU men were: freshman Craig Gaymon (White Plains, NY/White Plains) and junior Rich Scott (Eden, NY/Eden), third (23.59 seconds) and fourth (23.66 seconds), respectively, in the 400-meter dash; freshman Isaiah Cassin (Candor, NY/Candor) and Gaymon, second (1.88 meters) and fourth (1.83 meters), respectively, in the high jump; and sophomore Jeremy Weaver (Lancaster, PA/Lancaster Catholic), sixth in the 500-meter run (1:11.54).

The Alfred men’s and women’s teams are in action next on Friday and Saturday, Feb. 25 and 26, at the New York State championship meet at St. Lawrence University.