AU Press Releases

AU football team presents 2008 season awards

ALFRED, NY — The Alfred University football team announces its 2008 awards, handed out at the team banquet Saturday.

Jared Manzer (Johnson City, NY/Johnson City) was named the team’s Most Valuable Player. The junior wide receiver led the team in receptions (a school single-season record 69) and receiving yards (a school single-season record 1,058). He had 10 receiving touchdowns, which tied the AU single-season record he set as a freshman in 2006. Manzer was named an Empire 8 First Team all-star for offense and a Second Team pick for all-purpose. He was also named an ECAC Northwest Region First Team all-star.

Senior free safety Brian Nitsche (Portville, NY/Portville) was presented the Alex Yunevich Award as Defensive MVP. Nitsche earned Empire 8 all-conference honors each of his four seasons at Alfred. This year, he was a First Team selection after making 50 tackles (three for loss, one sack) and intercepting a team-best five passes. He ended his career with 194 tackles, 14 interceptions, and 36 pass breakups.

Senior wideout Trevor Bork (Fishers, NY/Victor) was named recipient of the Hal Brown Award as Offensive MVP. Bork earned Second Team Empire 8 honors after catching 64 passes for 946 yards and eight touchdowns. He will leave AU as the career leader in pass receptions (197) and receiving yards (2,555). He holds the school record for receiving yards in a game (208) and shares the records for most receptions in a game (11) and TD catches in a game (three). He earned First Team Empire 8 honors in 2007.

Other team awards presented include:

Special Teams MVP — Junior punter Peter Marley (Warsaw, NY/Warsaw). Marley averaged 36.7 yards per punt (long of 59 yards) and placed 18 kicks inside the opponents’ 20-yard line en route to being named an Empire 8 Second Team all-star.

Bob Carley Memorial Award — Senior tailback Morgan O’Brien (Bradford, PA/Bradford). The Carley Award is given to a player who displays a positive attitude and exceptional work ethic. O’Brien earned Empire 8 Second Team honors after rushing for a team-best 664 yards. For his career, he ran for 1,018 yards with four touchdowns.

Pete DeRose Memorial Award — Senior cornerback Ron Smith (Lyons, NY/Lyons). The award recognizes character, heads-up play and scrappiness. Smith, a Second Team Empire 8 Conference all-star, shared the team lead in interceptions (five) with Nitsche. He had 38 tackles (two for loss), a team-leading eight pass breakups and blocked four kicks. For his career, he had 122 tackles and eight interceptions (one returned for a TD).

Fred Yanni Award — Freshman quarterback Tom Secky (Bemus Point, NY/Maple Grove). The award is given to a freshman who shows great enthusiasm and love for the game and is a team player. Secky was named Empire 8 Rookie of the Year after setting AU freshman records for passing yards (2,869) and touchdown passes (27). He also set a new school record for passing yards in a game with 387 against Ursinus.

Saxon Club Award — The award is given to players who have at least seven outstanding games throughout the course of the season. The lone winner this season is Bork.

Purple and Gold Awards — The awards are given to top players on the scout teams. Freshman quarterback T.J. Kilcarr (Nanuet, NY/Clarkstown South) won the award for offense and freshman defensive end Eston Adams (Syracuse, NY/Fowler) won for defense.