AU Press Releases

Alfred University honors Excellence in Teaching Award recipients

Alfred University presented Excellence in Teaching Awards to 11 members of the faculty during the annual Honors Convocation earlier this month.

Vasantha Amarakoon, who retired this year as a professor of ceramic engineering, received the John F. McMahon Ceramic Teaching Excellence Award, presented annually to a member of the engineering faculty in the New York State College of Ceramics.

Ten others received Alfred University Excellence in Teaching Awards; recipients are determined by a vote of their faculty peers and students. The winners are:

Corrie Burdick, an instructor in Education, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

William Carty, professor of Ceramic Engineering and Materials Science, Kazuo Inamori School of Engineering.

Gerar Edizel, professor of Art History, School of Art & Design.

Andrew Eklund, associate professor of Chemistry, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

Danielle Gagne, associate professor of Psychology, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

Cris Lauback,, assistant professor of Counseling and School Psychology, the Graduate School.

Nathan Mellott, assistant professor of Materials Science and Engineering, Inamori School of Engineering.

Amy Rummel, professor of Marketing, College of Business.

Melissa Ryan, associate professor of English, College of Liberal Arts & Sciences.

Fred J. Tschida, professor of Glass Design, School of Art & Design.